Skip to content
Tell us what you think about our data and how you’re using it. Take our survey

Stewardship Zone, Council Area and Location

The Ontario Stewardship Program has established Stewardship Councils across Ontario.

Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry staff no longer directly administer and support Ontario Stewardship Councils. Community-based partners and stakeholders now independently administer Stewardship Councils.

We are no longer updating this data. It is best suited for historical research and analysis.

Stewardship Zone

The Ontario Stewardship Program divides the province into four administrative regions or zones. Any given Stewardship Council will fall into one of these zones.

Stewardship Council Area

The Ontario Stewardship Program established Stewardship Councils across southern Ontario and a portion of Northern Ontario.

Where these councils have defined administrative boundaries, the location is stored in this data class.

Stewardship Council Location

Most councils have established administrative boundaries that generally conform to upper tier municipalities.

There are some councils in Northern Ontario which are generally located in and around a certain geographic location but do not have established administrative boundaries. This data class is primarily used to store point locations associated with these northern councils.

Ministry contact: Natural Resources and Forestry

Additional Info

Field Value
Geographic coverage Ontario
Last Validated Date 2021-01-25
Update frequency Never

Stewardship Zone, Council Area and Location

Learn more about accessing data using different file types.

2010-06-23 - 2014-01-01

Supporting Files

This dataset has no supporting files

Report an error with this data

Fill out a Data Catalogue error report to let us know if there are issues with the resources in this dataset.