Occupational Health and Safety worker fatality and critical injury counts report

The numbers reflect incidents that were reported to and tracked by the Ministry of Labour. They exclude death from natural causes, death of non- workers at a workplace, suicides, death as a result of a criminal act or traffic accident (unless the OHSA is also implicated) and death from occupational exposures that occurred in the past.

Data from the Ministry of Labour reflects Occupational Health and Safety (OHS) and Employment Standards (ES) information at a point in time and/or for specific reporting purposes. As a result, the information above may not align with other data sources.

Notes on critical injuries :

For the purposes of the data provided, a critical injury of a serious nature includes injuries that:

  1. "Place life in jeopardy"
  2. "Produce unconsciousness"
  3. "Result in substantial loss of blood"
  4. "Involve the fracture of a leg or arm but not a finger or toe"
  5. "Involve the amputation of a leg, arm, hand or foot but not a finger or toe"
  6. "Consist of burns to a major portion of the body"
  7. "Cause the loss of sight

Only critical injury events reported to the ministry are included here. This represents data that was reported to the ministry and may not represent what actually occurred at the workplace. The critical injury numbers represent critical injuries reported to the ministry and not necessarily critical injuries as defined by the Occupational Health and Safety Act (OHSA). Non- workers who are critically injured may also be included in the ministry's data. Critical injuries data is presented by calendar year to be consistent with Workplace Safety and Insurance Board harmonized data;

Data is reported based on calendar year

Individual data for the Health Care program is available for Jan. 1 to Mar. 31, 2011 only. From April 2011 onwards Health Care data is included in the Industrial Health and Safety numbers.

Notes on Fatalities :

Only events reported to the ministry are included here. The ministry tracks and reports fatalities at workplaces covered by the OHSA. This excludes death from natural causes, death of non-workers at a workplace, suicides, death as a result of a criminal act or traffic accident (unless the OHSA is also implicated) and death from occupational exposures that occurred many years ago. Fatalities data is presented by calendar year to be consistent with Workplace Safety and Insurance Board harmonized data. Fatality data is reported by year of event.

[OHSA]: Occupational Health and Safety Act [Mar.]: March *[Jan.]: January

Contact

Ontario's Open Data Team opengov@ontario.ca

Data

Data Available

The data described here is available for you to use. [Learn more]
[See the licence for how you're allowed to use this data.]

Covers 2011-01-01 - 2019-12-31

Supporting Files

Additional Info

Field Value
Tags
Geographic coverage
Geography Breakdown None
Source URL/Address
Maintainer
Author
Author Email
Maintainer branch
Last Validated Date 2020-09-04
Update frequency Yearly
Access instructions

Rapport en matière de santé et de la sécurité au travail - nombre de décès et de blessures critiques parmi les travailleurs

Les chiffres refletent les incidents qui ont ete signales au ministere du Travail et qui sont suivis par le ministere du Travail. Ils ne comprennent pas les deces naturels, les deces de personnes autres que des travailleurs dans un lieu de travail, les suicides, les deces de nature criminelle ou les deces causes par un accident de la route (a moins que la LSST entre en jeu), ainsi que les deces causes par des expositions professionnelles qui se sont produites il y a longtemps.

Les donnees provenant du ministere du Travail produisent des donnees sur la sante et la securite au travail et sur les normes d'emploi, a une date donnee et a des fins de rapport precis. En consequence, les renseignements susmentionnes pourraient etre differents de ceux qui emanent d'autres sources de donnees.

Remarques sur les blessures graves  :

Pour l'application des donnees fournies, une blessure critique de nature grave inclut une blessure qui :

  1. met la vie en danger;
  2. fait perdre connaissance;
  3. entraine une perte importante de sang;
  4. comporte la fracture d'une jambe ou d'un bras, mais pas d'un doigt ni d'un orteil;
  5. comporte l'amputation d'une jambe, d'un bras, d'une main ou d'un pied, mais pas d'un doigt ni d'un orteil;
  6. comporte des brulures sur une grande surface du corps;
  7. provoque la perte de la vue dans un oeil.

Les rapports ne comprennent que les blessures critiques signalees au ministere. Cela represente des donnees qui ont ete signalees au ministere et qui ne refletent pas necessairement l'incident qui s'est reellement produit dans le lieu de travail. Les chiffres relatifs aux blessures critiques se rapportent a des blessures critiques signalees au ministere, mais qui ne sont pas necessairement des blessures critiques au sens de la Loi sur la sante et la securite au travail. Des personnes autres que des travailleurs qui ont subi une blessure critique peuvent aussi etre ajoutees aux donnees du ministere. Les donnees sur les blessures critiques sont presentees par annee civile, conformement aux donnees harmonisees de la Commission de la securite professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail;

Les donnees sont signalees par annee civile.

Des donnees individuelles pour le programme des soins de sante sont consultables pour la periode du 1er janvier au 31 mars 2011 uniquement.  Des avril 2011, des donnees sur les soins de sante sont comprises dans le rapport relatif a la sante et a la securite dans l'industrie.

Remarques sur les d eces :

Seuls les deces signales au ministere sont inclus dans ces donnees. Le ministere fait rapport sur les deces qui se sont produits dans des lieux de travail assujettis a la LSST. Les donnees ne comprennent pas les deces naturels, les deces de personnes autres que des travailleurs dans un lieu de travail, les suicides, les deces de nature criminelle ou les deces causes par un accident de la route (a moins que la LSST entre en jeu), ainsi que les deces causes par des expositions professionnelles qui se produites il y a longtemps. Les donnees sur les deces sont presentees par annee civile, conformement aux donnees harmonisees de la Commission de la securite professionnelle et de l'assurance contre les accidents du travail. Les donnees sur les deces sont presentees par annee du deces.

*[LSST]: Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail

Contactez-nous

L'équipe de données ouvertes de l'Ontario opengov@ontario.ca

Données

Données disponibles

Les données décrites ici sont disponibles pour votre utilisation. [Apprendre encore plus]
[Voir la licence pour savoir comment vous êtes autorisé à utiliser ces données.]

Pour la période de 2011-01-01 - 2019-12-31

Autres fichiers

Info additionnelle

Champ Valeur
Mots clés
Couverture géographique
Géographie de données individuelles Aucun
URL d'origine
Mainteneur
Auteure
Email du auteure
Bureau du mainteneur
Date de la dernière validation des données 2020-09-04
Fréquence de mise à jour Annuelle
Instructions d'accès