Far North Quaternary Watersheds

Note: this Far North Quaternary Watersheds data has been replaced by the Ontario Watershed Boundaries.

A watershed, also known as a catchment basin, includes all land that is drained by a watercourse and its tributaries.

Watersheds are split into four categories:

  • primary
  • secondary
  • tertiary
  • quaternary

Quaternary watersheds are subdivisions of tertiary watersheds. There are more than 1000 quaternary watersheds in Ontario.

We created the Far North quaternary boundaries based on the Ontario Integrated Hydrology data. The data covers the entire area draining to the Hudson-James Bay basin in Ontario (excluding the Rainy River basin).

A quaternary watershed is a polygon feature that identifies one of the subdivisions. Quaternary watersheds have a recommended size range of 40,000-250,000 acres. Exceptions apply where the landscape cannot be further divided or amalgamated into units that fit within the accepted range.


Ontario's Open Data Team opengov@ontario.ca


Data Available

The data described here is available for you to use. [Learn more]
[See the licence for how you're allowed to use this data.]

Covers 2010-01-01 - 2020-07-02

Supporting Files

Additional Info

Field Value
Geographic coverage Ontario
Geography Breakdown None
Source URL/Address
Author Email
Maintainer branch
Last Validated Date 2020-07-17
Update frequency Other
Access instructions